14
Jan
10

Is PR Becoming Too Overexposed?

Kelly Cutrone

Kelly Cutrone the owner of People’s Revolution the fashion PR powerhouse is taking her private life public. Cutrone is premiering her own reality show on BravoTV February 1st.

I must confess, I first heard of Kelly Cutrone from reality TV. She was on MTV’s “True Life: I’m Going to Fashion Week,” back in 2007. She had me at hello… I was amazed by her confidence and inspired by her power. Then came “The Hills” and “The City,” which I solely watched to get a glimpse in the life of the PR mastermind.

I’ve discovered that as much as I want to see more of the industry I am aspiring to be in, the more I don’t want to.

I will most definetly watch her show, I just dont think she should put this business on display. As for Kelly’s field in PR, fashion shows, campaigns and launches are extremely hectic. Im sure were not going to be seeing the happier side of her on display. With that said, I think the show may give fashion PR a bad rep because were most likely going to see the sleep deprived, pressure ridden professionals that build the fabulous field of fashion PR.

Plus, her book titled “If You Have to Cry, Go Outside.”  Pretty much explains her no bull mentality. Don’t get me wrong I’m looking forward to reading it, but also prepared to cringe.

What do you think of Kelly Cutrone putting the fashion PR business on display?

3 Responses to “Is PR Becoming Too Overexposed?”


  1. 1 sashahalima
    February 2, 2010 at 6:03 am

    hmm, I saw the first episode of “Kell on Earth” and I didn’t like it.

    I’ve working in some insane situations before, and yes, I’ve had to step outside to cry, as well. But I think that at first glimpse the show is way over-exposing, overtly dramatized, there is unnecessary vulgar language and I don’t think it *really* depicts what true fashion public relations is like.

    I know a girl who is a publicist for a major, major, makeup company who worked fashion week ’09 in NYC — and her stories are crazy, but not to the over excessive depictions “Kell on Earth” showed.

    Also, I’m having a hard time believing that someone who is supposed to be as seasoned as her and her team are THAT disorganized in real life.

    The printer breaking? Please. Yes, it’s a possibility, but at the same time, if it’s fashion week and that’s her bread and butter, I don’t know a single ad or pr person out there who doesn’t have backups! Also — why can’t you save the file, and take it to Kinko’s? They DO have printing places in NYC.

    Not only that, but the monitor that was ‘missing’ that the designed wanted so badly. Ummm, how? Cutrone is a seasoned event planning expert. Again, I don’t believe that that actually happened. And if it did, she just exposed herself as having major event planning flaws.

    Now the flip side to that is to say, she’s human too. Yes, but when you put yourself out there as the ‘expert’ — that comes with a certain amount of vibes attached to it.

    Vibes I clearly did not see in episode #1. It’s like watching MTV’s PoweR Girls and cringing the whole way through.

    Let’s see how episode 2 looks after it airs….


Leave a Reply

Yanique Tweets


